Week Two : Music Genres Likes and Dislikes.

In this post I am going to discuss my favouite and least favourite music genres.

Since i have stared studying music production , I have learned to have more of an appreciation towards the musical genres I’m least fond of. This is becasue I now realise and acknowledge the hard work that artists put into making their music.

My favourite musical genre is punk rock/ pop-punk . They were the music genres I was first exposed to as a child and still favour them to this day .I remember from a very young age being exposed to such atrists as Green Day and Blink182 because my mother was a big fan of both.

Greenday – longview
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=42BBdzzgPNM

I’ve been a fan of this music genre for all my of eighteen years , it may be the first genre I remember but it certainly wasnt the only one i grew up listening too. I remember going to many pop concerts in my childhood. But I have stayed a true fan to punk rock. I feel this is because the nature of the music and the way it is portrayed to its listeners. One the main reason I adore punk rock is because I feel that the songs have been written to serve a purpose. They could be telling a story or it could be staying true to its roots and sing about obvious theme of punk , politcal opinion !
Another reason I have stayed a fan of this genre is because of its simplicity. One of the main characteristics of puck rock is its simple song structure (verse,chorus,verse,chorus,bridge,chorus), its simple chord progressions (usually only three or four chords) and of course its simple striped-down instrumentation (electric guitars , bass ,drums and vocals). 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iymtpePP8I8

As i got older i became increasingly intersted in the sub-genres of punk rock ,genres such as
Pop-Punk – Bowling For Soup
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jrxI_euTX4A

Garage-Punk – The Horrors
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yNjcSgU0Nrg

Hardcore-punk – Cancer Bats

and Ska-Punk – Less Than Jake
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gBU5ScXHlm

I became interested in these sub-genres because of music T.V and music magazines such as KERRANG and Rock Sound as well as going to gigs of bands i liked because offten their support acts would often be of a different genre.

I feel that punk is an authentic genre. The song wrtting style in punk is very honest , it tells stories and puts forward political issues that working class people could relate too. Punk is also authentic in my opinion because almost every punk band writes and composes they’re own music .

Now on to my least favourite musical genre, Death Metal.
My main reason for not liking death metal is because, to me death metal bands seem to sound almost identiacal. This is due to the raw nature of death metal so there isnt much scope to alter or do anything different with their sound. 

Debauchery- Blood for the bloodgod
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DkkYxmMj-Oo

It would seem that death metal bands follow strict guidelines on how the write , compose , produce and record their music. It’s very fast highly distorted and downtuned guitars and harsh vocals that resemble the ‘Cookie Monster’ from Sesame Street. I find it hard to realate to this particular genre of music. I also find it hard to connect because of the nature of the lyrics , they tend to be filled with descriptive scenes of murder ,satanism and misogynistic comments.
I would recognise death metal to be an authentic genre eventhough i cant relate to it. And as a guitar playre I can appreciate the skill required to play with incredible speed whilst playing intricate guitar riffs. 

Leave a comment